Parliament Passes Supplementary Budget

Parliament has passed the 46.9 billion Supplementary Budget Schedule 2 for Financial Year 2012-2013 on vote of account without any amendments and this will certainly see civil servants salaries on their accounts for the last few months.

Parliament in session
Parliament in session

The supplementary is to provide the State House with money totaling to 2bn to carter for wage shortfalls, 4.6bn to the Ministry of Education to pay teachers salary arrears, 19.5bn to police, money to different referral hospitals and others.

Two weeks back, the supplementary was presented on the floor of parliament by the State Minister for Finance Fred Omach and was deferred to the budget committee by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga for scrutiny.

Last week the Parliamentary Budget committee approved the budget after trying for days to get supporting documents from the Ministry of Finance to ascertain the figures in the supplementary before approval.

Furthermore additional explanations were made to the committee by the Budget Director Kenneth Mugambi from the Finance Ministry especially on issues of the civil servants salaries, reallocation of money, suppressed funds and others.

Since Tuesday this week when Parliament reconvened, legislators have been debating on the Budget following a budget committee report presented by committee chair person Tim Lwanga, but the Finance Minister had failed to convince the MPs on the Supplementary especially on how the money was going to be sufficiently appropriated and spent with just a few days to the end of the financial year.

Today parliament resolved itself into a committee of supply chaired by the Speaker of Parliament, considered and passed all the required money in the supplementary to the different ministries to pay salary arrears and utility bills and others.

The supplementary budget is passed just a few days to the end of financial 2012-2013 that closes in on Sunday 30th June.

The supplementary was passed with names of accounting officers in the different ministries attached apart from three names of permanent secretaries that were questioned by the members of parliament these being the formerly Permanent Secretary in the office of the prime minister Pius Bigirimana, Ministry of Internal Affairs PS Stephen Kagoda and Ministry of Public Service PS Asuman Kiyingi.

These three are to be replaced by new permanent secretaries according to parliament’s directive to the State Minister of Planning Matia Kasaija to bring new permanent secretaries to parliament in one week to fill these officials’ vacancies.

Subscribe for notification