Jas Mangat wins first Pearl Rally

Jas Mangat
Jas Mangat


Jas Mangat (UGA) 83 points

Jassy Singh (ZAM) 66

Mohammed Essa (ZAM) 50



Jas Mangat (EVO X) 435

Ronald Ssebuguzi (EVOIX) 236

Arthur Blick Jnr (Subaru N10) 203

Uganda national rally champion Jas Mangat won his first Shell V Power Pearl of Africa Rally in Zirobwe on Saturday with a comfortable 06.10 seconds lead over close foe Carl Tundo of Kenya, with Uganda’s Ponsiano Lwakataka completing the podium 14.24 seconds behind Mangat.

With the victory, Mangat extended his lead at the top of the both the Ugandan and African Rally championship logs.

Peter Horsey, Omar Mayanja and Ahmed Ashraf finished fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

African champion Mohammed Essa from Zambia who was running neck to neck with the Ugandan champion bowed out of the race prematurely as he retired on the CS5 end in Zirobwe with suspension problems.

“Winning my first ever Pearl of Africa rally makes today very special. I came knowing this is the toughest race this year. Pearl has always got some surprises up the sleeves. Essa had a problem and Ian and Tundo all had problems,” said Mangat who won the Tanzania Rally told Pepper Online edition.

Jas Mangat’s lone Africa title challenger with a realistic chance Jassy Singh was ninth overall and score crucial 18 Africa championship points that have kept his title hopes alive going in the Rwanda race next month.

For years now, the Pearl of Africa rally known for its rolls and accidents never spared big names Ronald Ssebuguzi, Wycliff Bukenya, Carl Tundo, John Consta,  Davite Giancarlo,Shafiq Ssemujju, Christakis Fitidis and Arthur Blick who all fell out on Saturday.

Rwanda’s Giancarlo Davite and Kenyan Jaspreet Chatthe, the others in the running for the Africa Rally Championship (ARC) also failed to finish. So, it’s Mangat’s title to lose with two rounds to come.

“We have to go to Rwanda with a neutral mind and try to score as many points as possible. Anything can happen,” Mangat said.

Full final results

Jas Mangat 2:02.08

Frank Tundo 2:08.18

Ponsiano Lwakataka 2:16.32

Ahmed Ashraf 2:25.34

Susan Muwonge 2:26.19

Jassy Singh 2:34.30

Satvinder Singh 2:42.46

Abdul Sempebwa 2:43.24

Edson Mungyereza

Jonas Kansiime 2:57.52

Musa Mulika3:11.06

Hellen Shiri 3:23.07


Supplementary category

Peter Horsey 2:22.30

Omar Mayanja 2:25.19

Godfrey Wampamba 2:35.06

Ismail Otega 2:48.03

Patrick Sebambulidde 3:10.41

Ismail Lule 3:21.14


1 thought on “Jas Mangat wins first Pearl Rally

Comments are closed.

Subscribe for notification