National Open Pool finale draws out

31st August: Nile Special Open Pool Championships

Lugogo Indoor Stadium


Action at the 2012 Championship finals in Lugogo
Action at the 2012 Championship finals in Lugogo

THE full list of players to compete in the Nile Special Open Pool Championships to be hosted at the MTN Arena in Lugogo on August 31 is now complete following the holding of the draws.

The draws were held on Friday at Emerald Hotel along Bombo Road, Kampala on Monday morning before a packed house of pool players, Pressmen, the sponsors (Nile Breweries Limited), Pool Association of Uganda officials.

And an unknown quantity in Patrick Sserubiri could cause a surprise after his matchup with Uganda seed one Alfred Gumisiriza.

“I am ready to face him,” a confident Sserubiri told Pepper Online edition in a phone interview. “It does not matter if he is seed one or not, my preparations are good enough,” he added.

But the top 8 seeded players can only meet at the quater final stage while seed one and two(Amos Ndyagumanawe) can only meet again at the finals in case both players successfully win all their encounters.

In another interesting matchup, former top seed, 2009 Nile Special Champion Turigye Jonan aka Joker who struggled to qualify until he got a lucky shoot in Kayunga will battle tricky Tony Blair at the first round stage as he looks to revive his  sinking career.

Come d-day drawn players will be expected to adhere to the dress code of a black trouser or skirt and follow the black ball pool rules.

This year’s tourney winner will smile home with a brand new Toyota Progress, Ug.shs 2 million and 2 pool tables while the runners up will pocket 1 million.

The winner and all the former winners will don that famous winner’s jacket and will automatically become the 2013/14 Nile Special Pool Ambassador.

The exercise was presided over by Paul ‘Pipo’ Kayanja, the PAU Organizing secretary


Selected 1st Round Games:

Tony Blair Vs Jonah Turigye

Alfred Gumisiriza Vs Patrick Sserubiri

Amos Turyagunawe Vs Richard Tukahirwa

Allan Nsubuga Vs Rebecca Mirembe


2012 champion Alfred Gumisiriza with his trophies
2012 champion Alfred Gumisiriza with his trophies




Subscribe for notification