Charity Women Retain T20 Title

Charity 95/6, Tornado 74/6

(Charity wins by 21 runs)

Gerturde Chandiru succesfully captained Charity Trust Fund ladies beat Tornado by 21 runs and retain the Twenty20 Mehta Premier League title at Lugogo Oval on Saturday.

Chandiru top scored with 26 off 47 as Charity finished the tournament unbeaten having won all their eight round-robin matches.

It was a false start for Tornado, whose opening batter Gloria Adubu was out for a duck after she was caught by Joyce Nyakato off a Ritah Nyangendo delivery. Lelia Namaganda (06) followed suit after she was, trapped leg before wicket by Flavia Laker as Tornado struggled to stamp their dominance.

Ritah Nyangendo of Charity was later named the tournament’s player of the series with total 192 runs and 10 wickets as team mate Carol Namugenyi and Barbara Mukakunsi took the best bowling and batting accolade respectively. Tornado’s Franklyn Najjumba took the best fielder’s accolade.

Subscribe for notification