Muntu Retains Mafabi As LoP

Nandala Mafabi, MP Budadiri West and Leader of Opposition in parliament.
Nandala Mafabi, MP Budadiri West and Leader of Opposition in parliament.

Budadiri West legislator Nandala Mafabi is to retain his seat as Leader of Opposition after FDC President Gen Mugisha Muntu held off calls from some party members to have Mafabi replaced.

In a management meeting held on Friday at the party headquarters in Najjanankumbi, some party officials such as MPs Reagan Okumu, Odonga Otto, Anita Among and Nabila Naggayi among others were pushing for Nandala’s removal.

The MPs told Muntu that he should not maintain Mafabi who is going to continue undermining him as Party President.

However, Muntu argued that since Mafabi was not present in the meeting and was expected back in the country on January 29th, the discussion should only be held then.

Muntu also put them to task to suggest a name to replace Mafabi as Leader of Opposition in Parliament to which they kept quiet. Last year some MPs had suggested names of Serere Woman MP Alice Alaso who is the Secretary General and Dokolo Woman MP Cecilia Ogwal. The two women had already started carrying out internal campaigns eyeing Mafabi’s seat.

Party President Muntu then ruled that he shall wait for Mafabi to return to discuss further the party leadership positions.

The FDC with 38 Members of Parliament forms the opposition government in Parliament which gives it the right to appoint main shadow positions. These include Leader of Opposition, opposition Chief Whip, Deputy Opposition Whip and the Shadow Cabinet comprising of 21 slots.

The Management meeting also discussed how they should deal with other opposition political parties represented in Parliament considering the relations have been thorny before. These include the Democratic Party, Uganda People’s Congress and the Conservative party. There were questions on whether the FDC should take all the seats or give the other opposition sides one slot each in the Shadow Cabinet.

It was also agreed that there shall be some changes in Parliament committee chairperson positions that will then be deputized by MPs from other opposition parties unlike now where they have FDC Vice chairpersons.
The committees include the Public Accounts Committee led by Terego County MP Kasiano Wadri, Local Governments committee led by Rukiga MP Jack Sabiti, Government Assurances Committee chaired by Aruu MP Odonga Otto and chairmanship of the Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises committee.

Another management and National Executive Committee meeting is scheduled for January 31st to finalise the party positions.

4 thoughts on “Muntu Retains Mafabi As LoP

  1. Museveni fears Mafabi and always his born shivers wherever he addresses Parliament where Mafabi is leader of opposition in Parliament.This is a man Museveni needs to meet so that he gives him a political discourse for the Country.

  2. I see this as a good gesture by Muntu. What continues to cause problems among politicians in Africa and Uganda in particular is intrigue and Xenophobia. Let’s learn to tolerate others! Keep it up Muntu.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe for notification