Uganda Rugby 7s Pooled With England, Australia

Pool A: New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria

Pool B: South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad and Tobago

Pool C: Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia

Pool D: England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda

Hard times await coach Tolbert Onyango’s Uganda National Rugby Sevens team. The Ugandan side has been pooled with the strongest rugby playing countries in England, Australia and Sri Lanka at this year’s XX Commonwealth Games in Glasgow Scotland.

Rugby 8Sixteen teams will compete for the gold medal and in the fifth edition of the games due July 23-August 3 and they include Uganda, Australia, Canada, Cook Islands, England, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago, Wales, defending champions New Zealand and hosts Scotland.

In 2006 Melbourne Games, Uganda lost he bowl semi-final 29-0 to Kenya in aside that had now retired Timothy Mudoola, Allan Musoke Ssenkindu (cpt) and current MTN Heathens coach Brian Tabaruka Tindikamu.

The Cranes are yet to start preparations for the Games.

Subscribe for notification