NRM Appoints New Parliamentary Commissioners

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the ruling NRM party has appointed legislators William Nokrach, Rose Mary Sseninde and Rose Akol Okullu as the new Parliamentary Commissioners.

President Museveni  with the NRM flags
President Museveni with the NRM flag

Nokrach is the Northern Uganda representative for people with disabilities, while Rose Mary Sseninde and Rose Akol Okullu are women MPs for Wakiso and Bukedea districts respectively.

The three are replacing Emmanuel Dombo, the Bunyole County MP, Chris Baryomunsi, the Kinkizi East MP and Masindi Woman MP Jalia Bintu.

The trio had also reapplied for reappointment to the same positions. The outgoing Commissioners have served for two and a half years on the Parliamentary Commission. Government Chief Whip Justine Kasule Lumumba has confirmed the Changes.

The new commissioners were selected during the CEC meeting at State House Nakasero out of the 23 MPs who had applied for the three posts.

The three are now to join the already appointed opposition MP Regan Okumu and Leader of Opposition Wafula Oguttu. Other members on the Parliamentary Commission include Speaker Rebecca Kadaga, her Deputy Jacob Oulanyah and the Leader of Government Business, Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi.

The applicants for the three slots included Nokrach, Sseninde, Western Region PWDs representative Hood Katuramu, Ajuri County MP Obua Denis Hamson, Rubabo County MP Turyahikayo Mary Paula, and Akol. Others are Masindi District Woman MP Bintu Jalia, Bundibugyo District MP Ntabazi Harriet, Ntungamo Municiapality MP Musinguzi Yona and Kabarole District MP Businge-Rusoke Victoria among others.

Subscribe for notification