NRM Bubulo West Primaries Set for March 22

Tony Nsubuga Kipoi, the former MP for Bubulo County West, in Manafwa District. PHOTO BY GEOFFREY SSERUYANGE
Tony Nsubuga Kipoi, the former MP for Bubulo County West, in Manafwa District. PHOTO BY GEOFFREY SSERUYANGE

The ruling NRM party has set Saturday 22nd March as polling day for the primary selection of its flag bearer ahead of the Bubulo West parliamentary by-election.

The declaration was made last evening at a political meeting organized by Prof. Elijah Musehemza, the vice chairperson of the NRM electoral commission. The meeting was held at Manafwa District headquarters.

Prof. Mushemeza said nomination of candidates for NRM primary elections is scheduled for 6th and 7th March at the NRM headquarters in Kampala.  Nominated candidates will then conduct campaigns up to March 20th ahead of polling day.

So far 16 people including former State Minister for Transport, Sylvester Wanjusi Wasieba and Richard Michael Nataka, The former Secretary General Uganda Red Cross Society have expressed interest in the seat and are all seeking the official NRM ticket.

Also in pursuit is former Manafwa district woman Parliamentary contestant Rose Mutonyi Masaba, Samalie Wanderema, a lecture at the Islamic University in Uganda – IUIU and Ronnie Walukhu, a Kampala based lawyer among others.

One of the probable contenders Wanjusi Wasieba says the constituency under contention had missed out on effective representation since their MP was embroiled in scandals that led to his dismissal from the house. He says he intends to bridge the gap in representation.

The Bubulo West Parliamentary seat fell vacant after the dismissal of Tony Kipoi for absconding from his parliamentary duties. Kipoi had reportedly attended only 7 out of the 103 sittings of second session of parliament. Meanwhile there is no record showing that the MP attended any sitting of 57 sittings held in the 3rd session, which started on 6th June 2013.

Rules, privileges and discipline committee ruled that Kipoi be deemed to have ceased to be a Member of Parliament under Article 83(1) (d) of the Constitution of Uganda and Rule 101 (10) of the Rules of Procedure.

Last week, the Electoral Commission announced April 10th as the polling day for the by-election.

Subscribe for notification