Three Vie for Luwero Woman MP Seat

Nabukenya has lost her seat in Parliament
Nabukenya has lost her seat in Parliament

Three people have declared interest in contesting for the Luwero Woman Parliamentary seat which fell vacant after a court ruling last week.

The Appellate Court ruled on Thursday that the reigning MP Brenda Nabukenya vacates the seat on grounds that the process which brought her to parliament was not conducted in accordance with the law.

In the ruling, Court emphasized that the Electoral Commission didn’t comply with electoral laws when in November 2011 Nabukenya’s political rival Rebecca Lukwago Nalwanga sought a mandatory vote recount.

Nalwanga, who had been kicked out of Parliament upon conviction of voter bribery, lost the subsequent by-election to Nabukenya with a small margin of over 30 votes.

The recount was however stopped by the district returning officer Peter Kasozi claiming that one of the ballot boxes had been tampered with.

In Luwero, Contenders are already bracing themselves up for another challenge with three aspirants already declaring intentions. They include the incumbent Brenda Nabukenya, her predecessor Rebecca Lukwago Nalwanga and a new entrant Lillian Nakate.

This will be the third time that the people of Luwero will return to the polls in one term.

Subscribe for notification