Cote d’Ivoire win 2015 Africa Cup of Nations Champions

After a goalless draw in 120 minutes played on Sunday night at the Bata Stadium in Equatorial Guinea, Cote d’Ivoire stopped Ghana 9-8 in penalty shoot-outs.

ivory coast

The game watched among others by Equatorial Guinea President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo and FIFA President Sepp Blatter had many missed chances on either side till it was time for penalties.

Four time winners Ghana started well when they scored through Mubarak Wakasu and Jordan Ayew as Cote d’Ivoire missed through Wilfried Bony and Gadji Tallo.

But the Black Stars later missed the next two penalties through Afriyie Acquah and Frank Acheampong missed.

At 8-8, Cote d’Ivoire’s goalkeeper saved Razak Briamah’s spot kick, and converted his to win the trophy for the Elephants. It was all celebrations for the Cote d’Ivoire team, as the Ghana players shed tears.

It was the second time Cote d’Ivoire won the Afcon title after winning it in 1992 when they again beat Ghana in penalty spot kicks.

Coach Renard Herve also won his second Afcon trophy with a different team after he led Zambia to victory in 2012.

Subscribe for notification