Standard Gauge Railway Committee granted more time

The Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga has today, Thursday, 26th February 2015, granted a three week extension to the Select Committee on the Standard Gauge Railway to complete its investigation and present its report to the House.

more time

The Speaker made the ruling following a request by the Committee Chairperson and Nakifuma County MP, Hon. Eng. Kafeero Ssekitoleko.

The Chairperson informed the House that the Committee had requested for more Information from the Chinese Government and there was therefore, need for more time so that this is included in the report.

“We sought for more information from the Ministry of Transport of the Republic of China but they have not yet responded.

We seek for three more weeks as we await this information before we present the report”, Hon. Kafeero Ssekitoleko said.

The Select Committee was constituted by the Speaker of Parliament following a Motion in Parliament calling for an investigation into issues surrounding the procurement of the Standard Gauge Railway in Uganda.

The Committee visited China in January 2015 on a fact finding mission which saw the Members hold meetings with the three construction companies to establish their capabilities to construct the standard gauge railway.

The Select Committee is composed of MPs Hon. Maxwell Akora(UPC, Maruzi), Hon. Clement Ongalo Obote (NRM, Kalaki), Hon. Rosemary Nyakikongoro (Ind., Sheema district), Hon. Patrick Amuriat (FDC, Kumi), Hon. Xavier Kyooma (NRM, Ibanda North) and Hon. Suzan Amero (NRM, Amuria district).

Subscribe for notification