November 18, 2016

M7 Appoints Justice Byabakama as the new EC Boss

M7 Appoints Justice Byabakama as the new EC Boss


By Serestino Tusingwire

President Yoweri Museveni has nominated six candidates to head the Electoral Commission (EC) replacing the outgoing leadership of Eng. Badru Kiggundu who signed out on 17th November, 2016.

Court of Appeal Judge Simon Mugenyi Byabakama has been appointed Electoral Commission chairperson, and will be deputized by Hajjat Aisha Lubega.

Others include: Peter Emorut, former Kajara MP Steven Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebaggala Kigozi.

These will appear before the Parliamentary appointment committee for vetting as soon as possible.

These would occupy office as soon as they are confirmed by parliament thus replacing Kiggundu and his team who have been in office for 14 years.


Enable Notifications    Ok No thanks