M7 Appoints Former Jinja District Boss Kisambira to Public Service Commission

Kampala, Uganda: President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has appointed new leaders of the Public Service Commission and requested Parliament to approve them.

A Collage of President Museveni and Kisambira

In a letter dated June 6th 2022, signed by Museveni addressed to the Speaker of Parliament Rt.Hon Anita Among, the President appointed 9 members who include the Chairperson, the Deputy Vice Chairperson and 7 members to the Public Service Commission.

President Museveni appointed Kabogoza Musoke Winnie Agnes as the new chairperson of Public Service Commission replacing Justice Ralph William Ochan.

Francis Oryang Lagony has been appointed the Deputy Chairperson of the Public Service Commission.

“By virtue of the powers given to the President by Article 165(2) of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, i hereby appoint the following persons to the Public Service Commission” the President’s letter reads in part.

In the new leadership, Titus Kisambira Mutanda, the outspoken former Jinja District Chairperson was also appointed a member of the Commission

Kisambira is the Chairperson of Busoga Consortium and former contestant for Kagoma Constituency parliamentary seat in Jinja District.

Others appointed include Ms Grace Tibwita, Hajjati Kamulegeya Jamilah, Ms Benigna Mukiibi, Ms Adah Kabarokole Muwanga, Mugisa Micheal, and Olaunah Emmanuel Ourum as members.

In his letter, the President said that he was forwarding the names and the Curriculum Vitae (CV) to the Parliament for approval.

The letter was copied to the Vice President Rtd Major Jessica Alupo, the Prime Minister Rt Hon Robinah Nabbanja and the Minister for Public Service Hon Muruli Mukasa.

Article 165 establishes the Public Service Commission, its Membership, their appointment, qualification, disqualification and tenure of office. Article 166 (2) provides for the functions of the Public Service Commission which are to:-

  1. Advice the President in the performance of his/her functions under Article 172 of the Constitution.
  2. Appoint, confirm in appointments, promote and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding office of the Public Service under Article 172 of the Constitution.
  3. Appoint, Permanent Secretaries under Article 174 (2).
  4. Appoint Clerk to Parliament under Article 87
  5. Appoint Secretary to Cabinet under Article 111(3)
  6. Appoint Director of Public Prosecutions under Article 120(1)
  7. Appoint Secretary and other staff of the Uganda Human Rights Commission under Article 57 of the Constitution.
  8. Appoint Secretary and other staff of the Electoral Commission under Article 65 of the Constitution.
  9. Review Terms and Conditions of Service, Standing Orders, qualifications of Public Officers, matters connected with Personnel Management and development of the Public Service and make recommendations on them to government.
  10. Guiding and coordinating the work of the District Service Commission under Article 166 (1) of the Constitution.
  11. Hear and determine grievances from persons appointed by the District Service Commissions.
  12. Approve and appoint the Chairpersons and Members of District Service Commissions under Article 198 (2) of the Constitution.
  13. Appoint, confirm and exercise disciplinary control over Chief Administrative Officers and Deputy Chief Administrative Officers and Town Clerks of a City and Municipalities under Article 188 and 200 of the Constitution.  (Amendment Act 2005)

Subscribe for notification