PICTORIAL: MPs Take Oath as Joy, Vigour Open Eleventh Parliament

Rt Hon. Rebecca Kadaga swears oath as the Kamuli Woman MP in the 11th Parliament

Kampala – Uganda Parliament has administered oaths up to 200 members-elect of the eleventh parliament as it wraps Day 2 of the four-day-long ceremonies. 

As the speakership race drools legislators, Rt.Hon. Rebecca Kadaga gracefully took her accepted the tool of power taking oath as Kamuli woman MP for another five-year term after her constituents accorder her the mandate to serve.

Joyce Bagala arrives at Parliament to take oath as Mityana District Woman MP (NextMedia Photo)

Former NBS Tv head of News, Joyce Bagala took her oath Tuesday morning in company with her family as the duly elected Mityana woman MP in the eleventh parliament.

“I am happy to announce that I have been sworn in as Mityana district woman representative in the 11th parliament. I can’t wait to hit the ground rolling. My areas of focus include improved maternal health and fighting illegal land evictions in Mityana,” said Hon. Bagala.

Former URA customs Commissioner, Kateshumbwa is joined by his family as he takes his oath as Sheema Municipality MP

One of the other notable new kids on the block to grace the 11th Parliament was the savvy former URA Customs Commissioner, Dickson C Kateshumbwa. The gallant Sheema powerhouse was seen in the company of his family as he took his oath to serve the people of Sheema Municipality and Uganda at large.

State Minister for Finance, David Bahati – company of his family, renews commitment to continue serving the people of Ndorwa county west and country in the 11th Parliament
Dr. Charles Ayume swore in as the Koboko Municipality Member of Parliament. Dr Ayume defeated State Minister of Finance for Investment and Privatization, Evelyn Anite to claim the seat.
Hon. Naome Kabasharira took her oath as Rushenyi County MP in Ntungamo District

The controversial NRM-turned- Independent primaries strong force, Hon. Naome Kabasharira took her oath as Rushenyi County MP in Ntungamo District after beating the ruthless State Minister for labour and industrial relations, Mwesigwa Rukutana, in the highly contested January 14 general election.

Hon Geoffrey Ekanya bounces back to Parliament after being out in the 10th Parliament. He will represent Tororo North County

Tororo North County member of parliament, Geoffrey Ekanya matched his effortless antic to the chambers of the eleventh parliament after unseating Ms Annette Nyaketcho who had dislodged him in the 2016 general election.

Hon. Mwijukye Francis takes the oath of allegiance as Member of Parliament Buhweju County.

The youthful Former radio journalist, Florence Kabugho, grace day two of the legislators’ swearing-in ceremony to accept her tools of leadership as the Kasese Woman MP

Hon. Kabugho thumped her opponents to take office after the abrupt announcement by Kasese Woman and former Leader of Opposition (LoP) Winfred Kiiza that she was opting out of elective politics.

Hon. Florence Kabugho takes oath as women’s representative for Kasese District

She built her capacity whilst serving King Mumbere for the benefit of development in the Rwenzururu region and held different positions in the kingdom including being the Deputy Spokesperson, Minister for Gender and, until the arrest of the king was the Protocol minister

Former COSASE Chairperson, Hon. Abdul Katuntu swears his oath to serve the people of Bugweri county and Uganda in the eleventh parliament
NUP’s Kazibwe Bashir Mbaziira takes the oath. He will represent Kawempe South in the 11th Parliament.

MPs Swear in (Day 1 of 4 )

On day 1, Parliament administered oaths for 131 of 133 legislators with two of the elected members sought permission to recuse themselves from the first day on official duties. They include Kinkizi West MP Dr Chris Baryomunsi and Kabarole Woman MP Victoria Rusoke Businge.

However, Parliament also accepted a requested to bring forward the oaths for Nakawa West MP Joel Ssenyonnyi is scheduled to travel out of the country on official duties, assigned by the National Unity Platform.  Ssenyonyi was initially expected to take oath on Thursday, May 20, 2021.  

The Deputy Commander of the Land Forces, Maj Gen Sam Kavuma takes an oath as a representative of the army in the 11th Parliament.

Of the 131 MPs sworn-in on the first day, two are representatives of Older Persons in Parliament, a constituency newly created by the 10th Parliament among the Special Interest Groups.

They include Catherine Akumu Mavenjina for Northern Uganda and Peninah Busingye Kabingani for Central Uganda. The others were two representatives of the workers, two representatives of Persons with Disabilities and two representatives of the Uganda Peoples Defence Forces (UPDF), while the rest were Women and directly elected members.

Each of them took the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of Member of Parliament, a constitutional requirement before they officially start their five-year term of office. Upon taking the oaths, the MPs were handed instruments of power, including the Uganda Constitution and the Parliament Rules of Procedure.

About Post Author