Tom Matsiko in action for KCCA. (File Photo)

The  40th edition of Uganda Cup will definitely produce a new champion in May, 2015.


The development follows the elimination of the cup holders, Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) at the hands of Kampala City Council after a 1-2 home loss at Mehta Stadium in Lugazi.

KCC FC took the lead through William Wadri before Feni Ali equalized for the hosts.

Tom Matisko scored the winner for KCC FC, who played a cautious game thereafter to keep their lead intact.

KCC FC now progress to the last 16 stage to face Ndejje University in Luwero.

This was the only round of 32 fixture that was left unplayed after both sides were engaged in CAF Clubs fixtures.

SC Villa, Police and Kyambogo were the other teams victorious on Tuesday and thus progressing to the last 8.

SC Villa overcame FUFA Big league outfit, Proline 4-0 at Nakivubo stadium with left footed ace Ronald Muganga, Moses Gale, Musa Docca and Erisa Ssekisambu scoring.

Away in Kawanda, there were two sets of hat-tricks in each half that helped Police easily skip the Baza Holdings hurdle to the last 8.

Umar Kasumba netted his set of three goals in the opening half before second half substituent, Umar Bulenga had his in the other stanza of the half.

The other match was held at UPK grounds within Kyambogo University.

The home side, Kyambogo F.C continued with their great run in the cup ejecting AZAM FUFA Premier league club, Sadolin Paints F.C from Jinja.

Kyambogo won 4-2 in FIFA Post match penalties, after normal time had ended goal-less.

The Winner of the Uganda Cup earns an automatic ticket to represent the country at the CAF Confederations Cup.

Uganda Cup (Round of 16 Stage) Results: – Tuesday, 24th March 2015:

SC Villa 4-0 Proline Football Club – Nakivubo Stadium

Scorers: Ronald Muganga, Musa Docca, Erisa Ssekisambu and Moses Gale

Kyambogo 0 (4) – 0 (2) Sadolin Paints – Kyambogo University Play Ground

Baza Holdings 1-6 Police Football Club – Kawanda Play Ground

About Post Author