Court To Decide Fate Of ‘Rebel’ MPs Today

The four legislators have served on the same committees for the last two and half years.

Uganda’s constitutional court is today expected to deliver its ruling on the fate of the four Members of parliament expelled from the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party.

(R-L) Lwemiyaga MP Theodore Ssekikubo, Buyaga West MP Barnabas Tinkasimiire and Ndorwa East Wilfred Nuwagaba.
(R-L) Lwemiyaga County MP Theodore Ssekikubo, Buyaga County MP Barnabas Tinkasimiire and Ndorwa East Wilfred Nuwagaba.

The lawmakers include; Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga County) Barnabas Tinkasimire (Buyaga County), Muhammad Nsereko (Kampala Central) and Ndorwa East’s Wilfred Niwagaba.

The four were expelled from NRM for alleged indiscipline early this year by the party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC). It was chaired President Yoweri Museveni who is also NRM party chairperson.

Today’s ruling stems from an application filed by the ruling party seeking to eject the MPs from parliament. It came after Rebecca Kadaga, the Speaker of Parliament rejected a request by the the NRM Secretary General Amama Mbabazi, to eject the MPs.

According to a judgment notice issued by Mary Babirye, the assistant registrar of the constitutional court, the judges of the court are ready to issue their ruling.

“Court will issue the ruling whether or not the warring parties are present.” Babirye says.

The 5 judges of the constitutional court include Steven Kavuma, the Deputy Chief justice, Augustine Nshiimye, Remmy Kasule, Faith Mwondha and Richard Buteera.

The ruling comes days ahead of the MPs’ appearance before the Supreme Court seeking orders to stay the constitutional court from hearing and determining the NRM case.

About Post Author