Govt Halts Move to De-Gazette Cultural Leaders

The Kabaka of Buganda Kingdom Ronald Mwenda Mutebi II

The Kabaka of Buganda Kingdom Ronald Mwenda Mutebi II
The Kabaka of Buganda Kingdom Ronald Mwenda Mutebi II

Government has retracted its decision to de-gazette the names and tittles of cultural and traditional leaders. Gender minister Mary Karooro Okurut announced the cancellation of an earlier communication that would have annulled the list of cultural leaders which appeared in the Uganda Gazette legal notice No. 303 of 2014.

She had earlier on been summoned by members of the Buganda Caucus in Parliament who demanded that the letter in which the directive was issued be revoked.

They argued that the directive was inconsistent with the provisions in the Constitution and the Traditional and Cultural Leaders Act.

But moments ago, minister Karooro announced that the letter had been withdrawn in the interest of harmony. She adds that the communication was misinterpreted because it was not in any way intended to devalue the importance of cultural leaders.

This implies that the list, names and titles of leaders gazetted in May, 2014 still stands.

They include; include; The Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi of Buganda, Ubimu Phillip Olarker Rauni of Alur, the Paramount Chief David Onen Acana of Acholi, Omukama Solomon Gafabusa Iguru of Bunyoro Kitara, the Kamuswaga Apollo Sansa Kabumbuli II  of Kooki and Omukama Oyo Nyimba Kabamba Iguru Rukidi of Tooro.

Others are; The Won Nyaci Yosam Odur of Te Kwaro Me lango, The Kwar Adhola of Tieng Adhola, the Isabaruli Constantine Butamanya Mwogezi Mwatansozi of Buruli, the Emorimor Papa Augustine Osuban Adugala of Teso, the Omusinga Charles Wesley Mumbere Iremangoma of Rwenzururu, the Ikumbania Bishop John Chrizestom Wayabire of Obwa Ikumbaania Bwa Bugwere, Umukuuka Uwelukoosi Wilson Wamimbi of Inzu Ya Masaaba, and Omudhingiya Martin Kamya Ayongi of Bwamba.

About Post Author

1 thought on “Govt Halts Move to De-Gazette Cultural Leaders

  1. With or without titles long live our king of buganda. We love and honour you. May the best come in our kingdom.

Comments are closed.