New EC Staff Swears in Today

New EC Staff Swears in Today

By Serestino Tusingwire

The newly appointed electoral commissioners are to officially take office today January 17.

This will be after a swearing in ceremony that is scheduled to take place this morning at 9am at high court in Kampala.

In November last year, President Yoweri Museveni appointed Court of Appeal Judge Simon Mugenyi Byabakama to replace Kiggundu who had spent 14 years as EC chair.

Museveni also appointed Aisha Lubega as the vice chairperson and Peter Emorut, Steven Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebaggala Kigozi as commissioners.

According to Judiciary spokesperson, Solomon Muyita, the ceremony will be presided over by the chief justice.

Muyita noted that the electoral commission has too much work pending in office at the moment and need to start their work immediately after being sworn in.

The team will start by organizing the controversial Local council elections that is expected to take place in mid March this year.

About Post Author