Ssebuguzi Plots For Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally

Ssebuguzi man to beat at the August 15-16 event.

Pearl Rally: August 15-16, 2014
Total distance- 522 Kms
Competitive sections – 241 Kms
Longest CS- 37.65 Kms
Shortest CS- 14.84 Kms
Possible start list
Ronald Sebuguzi (Evo IX )
Gary Chaynes (Evo X)
Jas Mangat (Evo X)
Mohammed Essa (Subaru N16)
Duncan Mubiru (Subaru N14)
Jaspreet Chatthe ( Evo X)
Giancarlo Davite (Evo X)
John Consta (Subaru N10)
Manvir Baryan ( Subaru N16)
Arthur Blick Jr (Subaru N12)

The 16th edition of the two-day Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally gets underway with two competitive sections (CS) at Star City tomorrow.

Ssebuguzi man to beat at the August 15-16 event.
Ssebuguzi man to beat at the August 15-16 event.

Eight foreign crews including, Gary Chaynes, Morifere Soumaoro (Ivory Coast),Mohamed Essa (Zambia),Jaspreet Chatthe,Chhabhadia Chandrakant (Kenya) Giancarlo Davite (Rwanda), and Christakis Fitidis will battle Uganda’s Jas Mangat who is the Pearl Rally defending champion.

Ronald Ssebuguzi, the current NRC leader, will open the route 522km event that is co-sponsored by Shell V-Power, Silver Springs Hotel and Fire and Safety appliances. If it continues raining, the NRC leader says the route will be so complicated for all the drivers.

Ssebuguzi (Evo IX) is eyeing victory. “I have focused on winning this year’s event to strengthen my chances of taking the NRC title,” said the Shell sponsored driver. “It would also be good for the title sponsors.”

The rally is expected to draw mammoth crowds in routes seeing how it is the biggest and most popular on the local calendar is the sixth round on the ARC calendar.

Past Winners

1998- Charles Muhangi
1999- Muhangi
2000- Charlie Lubega
2001- Was not held
2002– John Gemmel (SA)
2003- Lubega
2004- Lubega
2005- Riyaz Kurji (Uganda)
2006- Kurji (Kenya)
2007- Conrad Rautenbach (Zimbabwe)
2008- Jamie Whyte (Zimbabwe)
2009- Kurji (Kenya, RIP)
2010- Whyte
2011- Ponsiano Lwakataka
2012- Muhammed Essa (Zambia)
2013- Jas Mangat


About Post Author