Butebo By-election To Be Held On June 6th – EC

EC Chief Eng. Badru Kigundu

The Electoral Commission has set June 6th as voting day for the Butebo County parliamentary by-election.

RIP Dr. Steven Malinga passed away
Dr. Steven Malinga (RIP) passed away last week

The Butebo seat fell vacant following the death of Dr Stephen Malinga, the Minister for Relief and Disaster Preparedness who succumbed to heart failure eleven days ago.

Charles Rwebero, the Pallisa District Electoral Commission Registrar told the media that the exercise will start with the stakeholders’ consultative meeting on April 29th in Pallisa, in which a team led by the commission’s chairperson Eng. Badru Kigundu will sensitize the stakeholders on the by-election.

He says update of the voters’ register runs from April 26th up to May 7th. Rwebero explained that nominations for candidates intending to vie for the seat are scheduled for May 13th and 14th at the Electoral Commission’s offices in Pallisa district.

He said after the nomination, candidates have been given up to 20 days to traverse the constituency and interact with the voters. The Commission official said campaigns for candidates start on May 16th up to June 4th after which the election will be held on June 6th.

Rwebero said currently there are a total of 50,120 registered voters and 90 polling stations in Butebo County.

Over the weekend, the NRM party rushed to announce its schedules for a primary election for the Butebo parliamentary seat.

This was during a political meeting organised by Professor Elijjah Musehemza, the vice chairperson NRM electoral commission.

Mushemeza said nominations of candidates for NRM primary elections are scheduled for 23rd and 24th April between 10:00am and 5:00pm at the NRM headquarters in Kyaddondo in Kampala.

Professor Musehemza said campaigns for the nominated candidates would start on 29th April up to 9th May before the election which will be held on Saturday 11th May.

So far nine people including Mallinga’s widow, Beatrice Asire Mallinga, have expressed interest to vie for the seat under NRM party ticket.

Others include Dr. Patrick Mutono, Mallinga’s long time opponent. Others are Musosa Muzaham Hamika, deputy head teacher at Progressive Secondary School in Mbale and Richard Oseku, the former Karamoja Regional Internal Security Officer.

Also in the race are Sam Keddi, a secondary school teacher and a councilor at Pallisa district council, Louis Patrick Okia, James Okurut, Yothia Sajjabi, and Monica Shaine Logose.

The by-election in Butebo county comes barely four months after a similar one was held in Butaleja district after the mysterious death of area MP Cerinah Nebanda.

About Post Author

2 thoughts on “Butebo By-election To Be Held On June 6th – EC

  1. The widow takes it! It is a trend to hand the baton on to a family member. It will be the same for the No. 1 slot when Muzei “retires” or “retired” in 20…?????

Comments are closed.