Expelled ‘Rebel’ MPs Invited To NRM Delegates Conference

The four legislators have served on the same committees for the last two and half years.


The four ‘rebel’ MPs expelled in 2013 from the ruling National Resistance Movement party over indiscipline have been invited to the delegate’s conference .

The 'rebel' MPs at a recent NRM event.
The ‘rebel’ MPs at a recent NRM event.

According to Caleb Turyamutunga, the Kabale Deputy Administrative secretary for the ruling NRM party, Ndorwa East county Member of Parliament Wilfred Niwagaba’s name is on the list of those expected to attend the conference.

He was expelled together with MPs Theodore Sekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Muhammed Nsereko (Kampala Central) and Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga) for indiscipline.

Twinamasiko says that his office has already forwarded Niwagaba’s invitation letter to him and believes that the legislator will respond positively.

However, Wilfred Niwagaba said that he had not received invitation to the conference and even if he had received it, he would not attend since delegates would not be allowed to freely express their views.

Nseresko confirmed receiving the invite but said he will not attend because he ceased being a member of the party in 2013.

The conference is expected to discus several proposed amendments to the NRM constitution, among which, is the proposal to have an appointed Secretary General. Currently, the party elects its Secretary General.

The proposal follows a fall out between President Museveni, also party chairman and his Amama Mbabazi, the secretary general.

Mbabazi is accused of using the party structures to sell his presidential ambition and candidature in the 2016 election. Mbabazi denies these allegations.

Though on leave, Mbabazi says he will attend tomorrow’s conference.

About Post Author