FDC Calls Off Butebo Primaries Over Defections

FDC EC Chairman Dan Mugarura

The Forum for Democratic Change-FDC called off it primary elections for the Butebo MP candidate after one of the aspirants defected to the Democratic Party a few minutes to the polls.

FDC EC Chairman Dan Mugarura
FDC EC Chairman Dan Mugarura

On Monday, Dan Mugarura, the FDC Electoral Commission chairperson announced plans to organize primary elections for the Butebo MP candidate. It came after two people expressed intentions to the contest the vacant Butebo county MP seat on the FDC ticket. They are Zaidi Ziwa, the former Kakolo Sub County FDC chairperson and Samuel Halwa.

Patrick Okiring, the Pallisa district FDC chairperson says that Mugarura summoned the two aspirants to the FDC headquarters in Nanjanakumbi in Kampala to agree on a single candidate. He says that two aspirants failed to agree forcing the party to organize primaries scheduled for Tuesday.

However, Zaidi Ziwa, the former Kakolo Sub County FDC chairperson changed his mind a few hours to the polls and defected to the Democratic Party. As a result, Samuel Halwa sailed through unopposed as the FDC candidate for the Butebo county MP by-elections. Okiring describes the decision of Ziwa as betrayal of the highest order.

He warns that Ziwa will regret his decision but didn’t divulge details. Norbert Mao, the DP president general confirmed to URN on Wednesday that they had nominated the 26-year-old Ziwa as their party candidate. Mao declared his support for Ziwa and promised to lead a team of DP officials to solicit for him votes.

Ziwa says that he deserted FDC because it lacks structures to reach the grassroot voters. Ziwa and Halwa join seven other aspirants eying the Butebo county MP seat. NRM is scheduled to hold primary elections on Saturday 11 to select the party candidate.

Those tussling out on the NRM primaries are Beatrice Asire Mallinga, the widow to the late Dr Stephen Mallinga, the former Butebo County MP, Dr. Monica Musenero, Dr. Patrick Mutono Lodoi, Kepher Kuchana, Richard Oseku, Samuel Kedi and Musosa Muzaham Hamika.

The Butebo county MP seat fell vacant last month following the death of the former area MP Dr Stephen Malinga. Electoral commission has set June 6th as the date for the Butebo parliamentary by-election.

About Post Author