MATCH REPORT | Uganda 1-0 Ghana

Keep fit walk a journey with friends and family members

Uganda CranesUganda Cranes returned to winning ways with a 1-0 win over Ghana in a 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier in Kampala on Saturday.

The Cranes had lost their last home game to Togo last month. Defender Savio scored the lone goal in the 10 minute with a well taken header off a corner kick.

The win improved Uganda’s chances of qualifying for the the event after missing out since 1978.


Kabugo who was starting his fifth game for the Cranes in the campaign nodded in a well taken Mike Sserunkuma corner kick. Newly appointed Ugandan Prime Minister Ruhakana Rugunda graced the game as chief guest.

In the absence of injured skipper Asamoah Gyan, the Black Stars who took part in the 2014 World Cup in Brazil lacked a lead player who could plan for the team. Stand in skipper for the Ghana team Andrew Ayew and Christian Atsu failed to go past the Ugandan defenders and were substituted by coach Maxwell Konadu.

The visitors who lead still lead Group E with eight points tried to fight back in the second half, but the home side stood firm. Uganda now moved to seven points before they travel to face Guinea next week in Casablanca, Morocco.

Cranes coach Militin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic told reporters after the game that he was happy with this win and thanks the fans for the support. He however said they now have to plan for next week’s tricky game against Guinea.

The Cranes who last qualified for Afcon in 1978 had five players booked. Skipper Andrew Mwesigwa, Junior Yunus ssentamu, Brian Majwega, Isaac Isinde and Daniel Sserunkuma were all booked. In their first leg clash in Kumasi, Uganda held Ghana to a 1-1 draw.


Team Line Ups
Uganda: Denis Onyango (GK), Isaac Isinde, Brian Majwega, Andrew Mwesigwa (c), Savio Kabugo, Tonny Mawejje, Mike Sserumaga, Farouk Miya, William Luwagga Kizito, Geoffrey Massa and Yunus Sentamu
Ghana: Razak Braimah, Harrison Afful, Baba Rahman,John Boye, Jonathan Mensah Rabiu Mohammed Christian Atsu,Afriyie Acquah, Majeed Waris Agyemang Badu, Andre Ayew

About Post Author