New Commission Elected As Kidega Presides over his 1st Meet As EALA Speaker

The East African Legislative Assembly yesterday elected a new Commission as the 4th Meeting of the 3rd Session of the 3rd Assembly commenced.

new comission

The new Commission Members replace those whose tenure ended in November 2014.

They shall serve for the balance of two and a half years up to June 2017 when the term of the 3rd EALA ends.

Commission Members from four Partner States (Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania) were unanimously elected by acclamation on the floor of the House.

This move followed the nomination of two Members each by the respective Partner State while the Kenya chapter nominated five Members who then squared it out through a secret ballot involving the whole Assembly.

Hon Isabelle Ndahayo and Hon Frédéric Ngenzebuhoro were elected from Burundi. Rwanda’s Commissioners are Hon Patricia Hajabakiga and Hon Christopher Bazivamo. Both Members served in the previous Commission.

Uganda will be represented by Hon Dora Byamukama and Hon Chris Opoka – Okumu while Hon. Makongoro Nyerere and Hon Nderakindo Kessy were elected to represent the United Republic of Tanzania in the Commission.

The Assembly elected Hon Joseph Kiangoi and Hon Judith Pareno from Kenya by way of secret ballot.

The two received the highest votes garnering 20 and 18 votes respectively.  The other contestants were Hon Sarah Bonaya (16 votes), Hon Abubakar Ogle (17 votes) and Hon Abubakar Zein (12 votes).

The functions of the Commission include managing and organising the business and programes of the Assembly, nominating Members of Standing and other Committees and making recommendations to the Council on terms and conditions of service of Members of the Assembly.

In line with Section 3 (2) of the Administration of the East African Legislative Assembly Act, 2012, the Commission is composed of the Speaker, the Chairperson of the Council of Ministers who shall be an ex-officio and two Members of the Assembly from each Partner State elected by the Assembly.

Meanwhile, the respective EALA Chapters also have new leadership.

Hon Saoli Ole Nkanae is the new Chair of the EALA Kenya Chapter replacing Hon Joseph Kiangoi.

Uganda Chapter has elected Hon Nusura Tiperu who takes over from Hon Bernard Mulengani while, Hon Makongoro Nyerere will chair the United Republic of Tanzania Chapter.

He takes over the baton from Hon Adam Kimbisa. The Burundi Chapter on its part, has handed over the reins of leadership to Hon Hafsa Mossi. Hon Mossi takes over from Hon Jeremie Ngendakumana.

About Post Author