NRM fires Committee Heads

Justine Lumumba,the SG of NRM

Florence Kintu, the Kalungu District Woman MP
Florence Kintu, the Kalungu District Woman MP

NRM Caucus convened today has dropped Kalungu Woman Member of Parliament Florence Kintu and Igara County West MP Rafeal Magyezi from their leadership positions on the Committee of Local Government and Public Service where they have been serving as Chairperson and Vice Chair Person respectively.

The caucus meeting that was chaired by the government chief whip Justine Kasule Lumumba made the changes in the leadership of sectoral committees which are chaired by NRM members due to the expiry of the two year term.

The two MPs are remembered for having been involved in the contested Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) report that was allegedly adopted by the committee on which they have been serving, that later was found to have been forged by the clerk to Parliament Jane Kibirige on directives of Deputy Speaker Jacob Oulanya.

The Committee Report was on the findings about KCCA following a petition to Parliament by the Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago seeking the institution’s intervention into the administrative matters of the Authority and activities.

The two have been replaced by Kwiyucwiny Grace the Zombo district Woman MP and Bugangayizi Woman MP Mable Bakeine as Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Committee of Public Service and Local government respectively.

The Government Chief Whip Justine Lumumba said that the dropped members are not being punished but that they had to offer opportunities to other party members saying that everybody in NRM is a leader and they lead at an appropriate time.

She added that the party appreciates the service the MPs offered during their period of service.
In other changes made by the NRM Caucus in the Sectoral Committees, MP Milton Muwuma Kalulu for Kigulu County South has also been dropped from the Committee on Defence being replaced by MP Namugwanya Benny Bugembe a Woman Representative for Mubende.

MP Matias Kasamba representing Kakuto County has been appointed the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee on Agriculture, animal industries and fisheries replacing MP Kasirivu Atwwoki and will be deputized by Yumbe District Woman MP Yuda Oleru.

Nakasongola District Woman MP Margret Komuhangi has been appointed the Chairperson of the Gender, Labour and Social Development Committee and her Vice will be Worker’s MP Alinaitwe Rwakajara replacind MP Nokrach William and Margret Babadiri.

MP Biraro Ephraim has been appointed the Chair of the Committee on Physical Infrastructure and the Vice Chair Person of the Committee is Alepa Simon replacing MP Semugaba Samuel.

Parliament’s Committee on Health is now under MP Kenneth Omona and Margret Eriama, previously the Committee was Chaired by Worker’s MP Sam Lyomoki.

MP Sarah Natayisire Kayagi the Manafa District Woman MP has been appointed to chair the Parliamentary Committee on HIV and her vice will be the Gomba District Woman MP Nakato Kyabangi.

Kyegegwa district Woman MP Flavia Kabahenda is now the chair of the Committee on Trade, her deputy being MP James Mbahimba.

The Leader of Opposition Nandala Mafabi will tomorrow submit the names of the opposition MPs to Parliament who will seat on the sectoral committees.

However other NRM members have retained their positions on different sectoral committees and they are; MP Micheal Werikhe remained the Chairperson of the Committee on Natural Resources, MP Kibirige Kasule retained his chairmanship of the committee of Finance, MP Stephen Tashobya still remains the Chair of the Parliamentary Committee on Legal Affairs.

Mityana District Woman MP Sylivia Namabidde still holds her position as Chairperson of the Committee of Education, Rubabo County MP Turyahikayo Paula retained his on the ICT Committee, MP Fred Mwesigye retained his seat as chair person of the Presidential Affairs Committee, MP Tim Lwanga also retained the chairmanship of the Budget Committee.

About Post Author