Independent Candidate Eng. Kajojo Secures Kanungu LC5 Seat, Edging Party Primaries Opponent

Rukungiri /Kanungu – Eng. Sam Arinaitwe Kajojo, an independent candidate, has emerged winner of the hotly contested Kanungu Local Council LC5 race as Local government Elections started Wednesday, January 20.

Kajojo edged the National Resistance Movement (NRM)’s Zephar Mugisha, the former Kihihi town council LCIII boss, and Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) Ayebare John Vianny.

Kajojo who lost to Zepah Mugisha in National Resistance Movement (NRM) Primaries in September, last year, overturned the results after polling 45,104 votes against his NRM counterpart Mugisha who polled 36,763 votes to become the 2nd in a three-man race.

Forum for Democratic Change FDC’s Ayebare John Vianny trailed with 596 votes as declared by Mulekezi Ferdinand the Kanungu district Returning Officer.

Out of 83,361, total number of ballot papers counted, 898 were considered invalid and 54 as Spoilt ballot papers thus 82,463 as total number of valid votes cast for candidate

In Rukungiri National Resistance Movement’s Geoffrey Kyomukama has been declared the winner of the Rukungiri District Chairperson race defeating the incumbent Andrewson Katebire .

Official results declared by the district returning officer Abas Namara show that Kyomukama scooped 34,363 votes ahead of other three contenders of the same seat including the incumbent and independent candidate Charles Andrewson Katebire who got 25,158 votes.

Others in the race were Martin Byomuhangi of the FDC with 16,032 and independent candidate Johnson Mwesigwa with 607.

Out of 77,057 total number of ballot papers counted, 897 were considered invalid and 53 as spoilt making 76,160 a total number of valid votes cast for candidates

About Post Author