LCIII boss Thumps ex-RDC to take Kabale LC5 Seat as Rukiga, Rubanda Get New Chairpersons

Kabale – Nelson Nshangabasheija, the NRM Flag bearer has won the Kabale District LC5 Elections.

Nshangabasheija, who is also the Katuna Town council LCIII boss polled 36,107 votes to beat his archrival the former Kyankwanzi Deputy RDC Denis Ndyomugyenyi Nzeirwe who contested as an Independent candidate who polled 33,651 votes and Isaiah Namanya of Alliance for National transformation Isaiah Namanya who came last with 1,219 votes.

Nzeirwe has lost to Nshangabasheija in the September NRM Primaries as well the incumbent Patrick Besigye Keihwa who is also the vice chairperson Uganda local government association western uganda .

The results were announced by Ahmed Musisi Naduuli , the Kabale District Returning officer at Kabale District Lukiiko Hall on Thursday this Morning.

Speaking shortly after being declared winner, Nshangabasheija said that his first priorities will look at unity the people of Kabale whom he says that the elections left many divided by some selfish politicians along religious lines.

Meanwhile Steven Ampaire Kasyaba has been declared the winner of the hotly contested Rubanda LC5 race beating three other candidates.

He polled 36,554 votes beating his closest rival Pastoli Twinomuhangi the Rubanda LC5 Vice chairperson who polled 21,701 votes. Twinomuhangi contested on an independent ticket.

The other candidate was Obed Habasa of Uganda Peoples congress UPC who came last with 2016 votes . Susan Atuhura of the Alliance for according to results announced by Annet Ashaba the Rubanda district Returning Officer at Rubanda District Headquarters.

the incumbent LC5 Boss for Rubanda district Kenenth Jogo Biryabareema didnt seek fior re-eletion as he stood for the rubanda east MP seat but lost to incumbnet henry musaisizi

In Rukiga district, Robert Mbabazi Kakwerere of NRM won the hotly contested LC5 race after defeating FDCs Micheal Kwarikunda Mbareba after polling 20,200 votes against Mbareba’s 12,308 votes.

Onesmus Arinda of National Unity Platform came third with 1,150 votes while independent Martin Rumanzi trailed with 478 votes.

the incumbent Dr Alexander Kampikaho didn’t seek for re-election but he stood for the Rukiga county MP seat in the NRM primaries and lost.

However Mbareba has disputed the results and vowed to take the matter to court citing what he called gross irregularities and intimidation of his supporters by security personnel and arrested five if his agents on voting day.

Mbareba says that also the number of voters who voted surpassed the actual number of registered voters at some polling stations in Kamwezi sub-county.

About Post Author