Namakula Bonds With Usual Foes At Uganda Ladies Open


3rd- 5th October 2013:

The Uganda Ladies Open,

 At Entebbe Golf Club

Angel Eaton (TAN) 225 gross

Iddi Madina (TAN) 229 c/b

Hawa Wanyeche (TAN) 229

Flavia Namakula (UGA) 234

Devanshi Naik (ZAM) 237

Uganda’s top ranked female golfer has found camaraderie on the Uganda Ladies Open start list, the 2-time winner of this event determined to see off competition especially main title challenger Tanzanian golf icon Angel Eaton.

Flavia Namakula (L) with a colleague at UGC
Flavia Namakula (L) with a colleague at UGC

The prestigious ladies Championship swings into action on at the par 70 Entebbe Golf Course and beautiful army golfer after her Tuesday practice in Entebbe ahead of Thursday’s start of the annual  tourney, Namakula was glad to share a few details.

“It is a great group of ladies. We all take a good ribbing and it’s constant competition in various international Opens,” Namakula said. “What goes on at the course is a lot of fun and am looking ahead to the experience.

“Entebbe can be a very difficult course. She (Eaton) will definitely find it challenging but will quickly get used to this course, and coming in early (on Monday) has helped her a lot to learn a few things here and there about this course”, Namakula said of her rival who has won 3 major championships this year.

“But I have practiced a lot for this edition and hopefully the recent rains will make it even easier to play.” Eaton, who is chasing her third title of the year after winning the Zimbabwe Amateur Strokeplay Championship and Coast Open, concurred that EGC would give her a whole new challenge.

She returns in an attempt to win back to back tournament though she will be making her debut on the Entebbe course.

The subsidiary will have an entry of 100 golfers that is men and women with players playing between handicap 19-36 for the first time this year lady caddy golfers are expected to take part. Pauline Nambi won the 2012 Subsidiary ladies’ category


2003: Esther Okullo (Uganda)

2004: Rose Naliaka (Kenya)

2005: Sophie Viggo (Tanzania)

2006: Mary Karano (Kenya)

2007: Mary Karano (Kenya)

2008: Melissa Nawa (Zambia)

2009: Jasper Kamukama (Uganda)

2010: Flavia Namakula (Uganda)

2011: Flavia Namakula (Uganda)

2012: Angel Eaton (Tanzania)

2013: ????

About Post Author