North East Region Elects FUFA District Delegates


Ten districts from North East Region have elected their Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) District Delegates. The elections for the district delegates were conducted country wide over the weekend. The district inspectors of schools presided over the elections where each district elected two delegates.

Ibrahim Maraka, the Chairperson North Eastern Region, told Uganda Radio Network that all the ten districts in the region that covers Teso and part of Karamoja were able to conduct peaceful and successful elections. He named the ten districts as Soroti, Bukedea, Kumi, Katakwi, Amuria, Kaberamaido and Moroto and the three new districts include Ngora, Serere and Napak.

Maraka noted that formerly the three new districts were affiliated to the old districts of Kumi, Soroti and Moroto respectively.

Some of the FUFA delegates elected in the North Eastern Region include John Odongo, Stephen Onyait, Richard Ochom, Julius Oserere, Silas Oluka, Simon Otim, Joseph Okorio, Juma Okiror, Moses Esalu and Micheal Onyinge.

Those elected from the new districts include; Moses Aleper, Nelson Anying, Johnson Nyiria, Alvian Ababa, Moses Emudong and Michael Esima.

Maraka thanked all the new delegates and congratulated the old ones who retained their seats.
He appealed to the FUFA delegates to focus on football development in the region.

Later this year, the delegates will converge in Kampala and, together with their colleagues from other parts of the country, elect the new FUFA president.

About Post Author