Kampala – The National Unity Platform (NUP) has unveiled its 30 Member cabinet extending an olive branch to rivals Forum for Democratic Change.

Unveiled by Leader of Opposition at Parliament Mathias Mpuuga, appointed a cabinet comprising shadow Cabinet 19 Males who accounted for 63.3% slots and only 11 Females accounting for  36.7%.

In terms of Political Parties representation, NUP has the lion share with 18 slots, followed by FDC-7, Independents-2 while Democratic party Uganda People’s Congress and People’s Progressive Party each had one slot. Justice Forum represented by party President Asuman Basalirwa was snubbed in the appointment.

In the appointment, Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) was retained as Shadow Attorney General having held the slot in the 10th Parliament when FDC was the main opposition party. 

Muwanga Kivumbi (Butambala County) who was snubbed by NUP in the lucrative Opposition leadership in Parliament has been compensated with leadership as Chairperson Buganda Caucus and further consoled with a slot as Shadow Finance Minister. An ardent member of the Budget Committee, who has authored minority reports to national budget estimates, Muwanga will take on Minister Matia Kasaija in the Budget Committee. He replaced FDC’s Anthony Akol.

NUP also named Rose Nantongo (Kyotera Woman) as Shadow Gender and Labour Minister, while Atkins Katusabe bounces back as Shadow Minister for Public Service. He was Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs, a role that was complemented with his American accent that was so complex when he had just come to Parliament in 2016, that some MPs begged former Speaker Kadaga to hire a translator to help simplify Katusabe’s accent.
Derrick Nyeko (Makindye East) having ousted FDC stronghold Ibrahim Kasozi in last elections, Nyeko’s efforts were rewarded as Shadow Minister Presidency and Security.
Former Presidential Candidate Abed Bwanika is the Shadow Minister for Agriculture taking over from FDC’s Francis Gonahasa who didn’t make it back to the 11th Parliament. Bwanika is tasked with scrutinising policies brought by Frank Tumwebaze who was named Minister of Agriculture in the latest cabinet.

Brendah Nabukenya (Luwero Woman) has been named Shadow Minister of Education and will be tasked with scrtunising policies by Janet Museveni the Minister of Education.

An ardent senator, Jonathan Odur was the only UPC member to make it to the Shadow Cabinet and has been named Shadow Minister for Defence and Veteran Affairs, while Abdallah Kiwanuka has been rewarded for ousting scandalous former State Minister for Water, Ronald Kibuule. Kiwanuka is Shadow Minister Internal Affairs and will be taking on Minister Kahinda Otafiire head to head in the Internal Affairs docket.
Dr.Timothy Batuwa (Jinja City West) has been named Shadow Minister for Health, while seasoned lawyer and law don, Yusuf Nsimbambi (Mawokota South) has been named Shadow Minister for Works and Transport,  whole Rubaga North’s Abubaker Kawakya replaced Betty Nambooze as Shadow Minister of Kampala Capital City Authority.
Newcomer Nkunyingi Muwada who replaced former Presidential Candidate Robert Kyagalanyi as MP for Kyadondo East was named Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs to replace heavily American accented Katusabe.
After beating FDC’s Kabaziguruka in Nakawa East, it was only right that Ronald Balimwezo, former Nakawa Division mayor made his debut to the front bench in Parliament Chambers after being named Shadow Minister for Lands, Housing.
FDC’s Asinasi Nyakato has been named Shadow Minister of Energy to scrutinise policies brought by Ruth Nankabirwa who is holding the same docket in the latest cabinet. 
Karem Masaba (Mbale Industrial Division) who is also an independent candidate takes over from Robert Centenary as former Shadow Minister for Tourism while Frank Kabuye who ousted Simeo Nsubuga from Kassanda South is Shadow Minister for Youth and Children Affairs.

After FDC lost its slot as the main opposition party to NUP, former Parliament Commissioner, Francis Mwijukye had been relegated to Shadow Minister in charge of Trade and Industry.

Ethel Naluyima (Wakiso Woman) who ousted NRM stronghold Rosemary Sseninde has been rewarded with front bench seat, having been named Shadow Minister Local Governments, while Mukono Woman MP, Hanifa Nabukeera is Shadow Minister for Human Rights a slot that isn’t in the main cabinet. However with security forces cited in many human rights violations, her appointment comes to hand.
Christine Kaaya who beat former Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa was awarded the slot as Shadow Minister for Water and Environment, while Goreth Namugga (Mawogola County) is Shadow Minister for Science and Technology.

Musician Hillary Kiyaga (Mawokota South) will be Shadow Minister for Culture and Performing Arts while FDC’s Anna Adeke (Soroti City Woman MP) is charged with overseeing Government policies in Cooperatives and Microfinance.

Former NBS journalist, Joyce Bagala (Mityana Woman) has been designated as Shadow Minister for Information and Anti Corruption while People’s Progressive Party’s Santa Okot is Shadow Minister for Special Regions including; Luwero, Karamoja, Bunyoro, Northern Uganda.

Gilbert Olanya has been dropped as Shadow Minister of Defence, instead shifted to East African Affairs, Charles Tebandeke is Shadow Minister for Animal Industry and Fisheries and Geoffrey Kayemba is Shadow Minister for Sports, replacing Allan Ssewanyana.

About Post Author