Uganda, South Africa Friendly Flops

IMG_9835Cranes coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevicis a sad man after financial woes deprived his of  a planned  international a friendly game against hosts South Africa in Johannesburg this week before the 2014 CHAN kickoff.
The Bafana Bafana, South Africa’s national football team had requested to play Uganda Cranes on Thursday but altered Uganda team travel plans  meant Micho’s team can only leave Entebbe International Airport late on Thursday – barely 48 hours to their first game against Burkina Faso.
“We needed to get more playing time in the legs of the players before the tournament, a test against Bafana Bafana would have been the ultimate one” the coach told RedPepper Online Sport on Sunday afternoon  after training at the Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.
“That game would have really helped us. I need to confirm the travel arrangements with the FA again though i heard Thursday,” the Serb added.
But the team is expected to leave for South Africa on January 9, according to the FA’s Chief Executive Officer, Edgar Watson.
The Cranes beat Mauritania 3-0 in an International friendly on Thursday in Kampala, and the Coach said another build-up would be great for the team.
“These are young players and another friendly would be very good as we head to Cape Town for the Group games,” reasoned Micho.
Uganda who will be making a second CHAN appearance are grouped alongside Zimbabwe, Morocco and Burkina Faso.
Goalkeepers: Benjamin Ochan (SC Victoria), Ismail Watenga (SC Vipers), Ali Kimera (SC Victoria)
 Defenders: Denis Iguma (SC Victoria), Richard Kasagga (Kiira Young), Martin Mpuga (SC Victoria), Isaac Muleme (SC Victoria), Savio Kabugo (SC Victoria), Rogers Aloro (KCCA FC), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (KCCA FC), Ronnie Kisekka (KCCA FC)
Midfielders: Julius Ntambi (Kiira Young), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Allan Kyambadde (Express FC), Vincent Kayiizi (SC Vipers), Yasser Mugerwa (SC Victoria), Brian Majwega (KCCA FC), Ivan Ntege (KCCA FC), Joseph Mpande (SC Vipers)
Strikers: Crespo Asiku (Bidco FC), Francis Olaki (Soana FC), Simon Okwi (SC Victoria), Yunus Sentamu (SC Vipers)

About Post Author