CITY HALL: Lukwago Commands Early Lead as Nabilah trails Behind in Kampala Mayoral Race

Kampala City Lord Mayor, Erias Lukwago joined FDC ahead of the 2020/2021 General Elections

Kampala – The incumbent Kampala Capital City Lord Mayor Erias Lukwag commands an early lead in the Mayoral election as votes continue to be tallied.

In the January 20 Local governments elections, the Kampala City Mayoral race results indicate that Lukwago aka Omuloodi waali takes lead followed by Nabilah Naggayi Ssempala of the National Unity Platform (NUP) .

Unofficial figures from various polling points have put the incumbent Lukwago in a commanding lead after he won massively in key areas including Lubaga Division among other areas.

His opponents including Daniel Kazibwe aka Ragga Dee and Joseph Mayanja aka Jose Chameleone continue to lag hundreds of votes behind Lukwago.

Afew minutes after the close of polling in the Kampala city mayoral race, downtown areas were sighted jubilating Lukwago’s victory as the first results showed him in the lead.

Bodaboda motorcycle and taxi riders, shop attendants, hawkers, market vendors and others have taken to the streets in wild celebrations.

At Mackay Church Zone, excited supporters moved about with pens and papers recording results from various polling stations.

At Njovu polling station, Lubya Zone Erias Lukwago has collected  433 votes, followed by Nabillah with 161 votes. Daniel Kazibwe got 42, Chameleon 36 while DP’s Charles James Ssenkubuge collected 06 votes only.

At Nakivubo Blue polling station, Erias Lukwago gathered 305 votes, Nabilah Naggayi got 53, Daniel Kazibwe got 22, Joseph Mayanja gathered 12 and Charles Senkubuge (DP) got 1. Others got zero.

Nabilah has been defeated at her own polling station Katuuso Church of Uganda.

Charles Ssenkubuge 3,
Nabillah Naggayi 95,
Erias Lukwago 414,
Daniel Kazibwe 20,
Joseph Mayanja 23

About Post Author