Kadaga: Expelled MPs Free To Return

Speaker of Parliament Hon. Rebecca Kadaga

Speaker of Parliament Hon. Rebecca Kadaga
Speaker of Parliament Hon. Rebecca Kadaga

Uganda’s Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga has said that the four MPs who had been stopped from accessing parliament can resume their parliamentary activities.

She revealed this on Thursday hours after the Supreme Court issued an injunction staying their eviction until their appeal against the Constitutional Court ruling is heard.

Kadaga had on Feb 25 announced that she had been ordered to restrain Theodore Sekikubo, Bernabas Tinkasimire, Mohammad Nsereko and Wilfred Niwagaba from accessing parliament and from participating in any parliamentary activities following the judgment of the Constitutional Court on February 21.

Kadaga said that she has again received a communication where the Supreme Court restrained her from implementing the orders of the Constitutional Court until the substantive application is disposed of by the court.

She added that the four MPs are now permitted to sit in parliament, take part in all parliamentary activities and receive payment of all salaries, allowances and emoluments due to an MP until the court determines otherwise.

The four MPs who represent Lwemiyaga, Buyaga West, Kampala Central and Ndorwa East were expelled from the NRM party in April last year and the latter went to court to have them thrown out of parliament. The party officials reasoned that they can’t continue sitting in parliament after the party upon which they were elected to those seats had expelled them.

About Post Author