Mawejje Refuses To Play For Uganda

Star midfielder Tony Mawejje could not make the trip to Zambia

Local Luganda daily, Kamunye exclusively reveals that Uganda Cranes midfielder Tony Mawejje has dully communicated to  Uganda FA’s technical committee that he will not be available after being named on a strong 25-man squad expected to start training this weekend ahead of the international friendly against former African champions Zambia.

Mawejje who recently  left Icelandic Premier league club IBV and signed for Norway’s first division side FK Haugesund says he needs time off coach Micho Sredojevic’s side to give 100% to his European employers though its understood he will be available when the Cranes will start in the preliminary stage for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers.

Mawejje started his professional carrier with KCCA in 2004, and played there a full  two seasons till 2006 before joining Police for one season till 2007. He later moved to URA in 2008 before he signed for Iceland’s IBV in 2009.

At IBV, Mawejje made 105 appearance in all competitions and scored only 10 goals. He was also loaned to South Africa’s Golden Arrows in 2012. Mawejje has as well made 48 appearance for the Uganda Cranes, scoring 4 goals since 2003.

He last featured for the Cranes, in the 1-0 loss to Senegal in the just concluded Brazil 2014 World Cup qualifier that was played in Morocco.

Micho named three goalkeepers, nine defenders, eight midfielders and five strikers. The squad has players that featured for Uganda at the January Africa Nations Championship (Chan) in South Africa and the usual experienced seasoned campaigners.


Onyango Dennis (Bidvest Wits-South Africa), Odongkara Robert (Saint George-Ethiopia), Watenga Ismail (Vipers-Uganda)


Guma Denis(Victoria University-Uganda), Wadada Nicholas (Vipers-Uganda), Walusimbi Godfrey (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Kakuba Alex (Covilha-Portugal), Kalungi Henry (Richmond Kickers-US), Isinde Isaac (Saint George-Ethiopia), Mwesigwa Andrew (Ordabasy-Khazakstan), Kassaga Richard (Kira Young-Uganda), Ochaya Joseph (Asante Kotoko-Ghana)



Mawejje Tony (Haugesund-Norway), Aucho Khalid (Tusker), Kizito Geoffrey (Gor Mahia), Ntege Ivan(KCC-Uganda), Oloya Moses (Becamex Binh Duong FC- Vietnam), Kizito Luwagga William (Covilha-Portugal), Matovu Sula (BK Hacken-Sweden), Majwega Brian (KCC-Uganda)


Massa Geoffrey (University of Pretoria-South Africa), Okwi Emmanuel (Yanga-Tanzania), Kizza Hamis (Yanga-Tanzania), Sserunkuma Dan (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Odur Tony (KCC-Uganda)

About Post Author