Omusinga Appoints New Premier

Omusinga Charles Wesley Mumbere Iremangoma.

Obusinga Bwa Rwenzururu King Charles Wesley Mumbere Iremangoma on Wednesday made a mini-reshuffle of his cabinet ahead of the 47th coronation anniversary to be held on Saturday.

Omusinga Charles Wesley Mumbere Iremangoma
Omusinga Charles Wesley Mumbere Iremangoma

The Omusinga finally kicked out his Prime Minister Henry Kandabu, who has been on suspension over financial mismanagement and replaced him with Noah Nzaghale.

Kandabu was suspended early this year and placed under investigation following reports that he connived with other officials to steal over 40 million shillings donated by a non-government organisation to run the Kingdom activities.

Nzaghale, the new prime minister, has been working as minister for local administration and mobilization and now takes over from Ivan Syauswa who has been acting since the suspension of Kandabu.

The Omusinga, who did not touch other ministries in this reshuffle, appointed the chairman of the Rwenzururu Veterans Development Association Yolamu Mulima as the new Minister for Local Administration and Mobilization.

The Omusinga said he decided to relieve Henry Kandabu of his duties because he became partisan by taking on another job in State House during his suspension.

The Omusinga then handed the instruments of power to the new prime minister who will lead the cabinet through the forthcoming coronation anniversary.

Nzaghale, accompanied by his wife, swore allegiance to the Omusinga and promised to serve the cultural institution without fear or favour.

The Omusinga also urged the kingdom officials to cooperate with the new prime minister to strengthen the finances in order to cause development. The Omusinga strongly cautioned Kandabu to stop posing as the prime minister forthwith.

Nzaghale who once served as principal private secretary to the Omusinga becomes the third prime minister since the recognition of the cultural institution by the central government in 2009.

Others are Constantine Bwambale who held the office from 2009 until his resignation in 2012 and Henry Kandabu.

About Post Author