Uganda Cranes Thump Rwanda To Win 2015 CECAFA Cup

CECAFA 2015 Final: Rwanda 0-1 Uganda

Uganda Cranes are 2015 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup champions following a 1-0 win over archrivals Rwanda a match played at the Addis Ababa national stadium, Ethiopia on Saturday.


Caesar Okhuti was the hero of the day after the Express FC forward converted a powerful header from a Denis Okot’s cross in the 15th minute.

Both sides launched numerical attacks till the final whistle but the score remained static in what could be termed a physical contest.

For Rwanda who came with a combatant system of play witnessed Coach Johnny Mckinstry’s pushing for an equalizer but the backline of Mrushidi Juko and Richard Kasagga remained sober through the game

Joseph Ochaya, Muzamir Mutyaba and the day’s goal scorer, Caesar Okhuti had a great day at the pitch.

With the Cranes rolling in the driving seat Cranes tactician Mltin Micho Sredejevic in the wee minutes of the second half made changes to keep his side in the lead.

Goal scorer Caesar Okhuti was replaced with Isaac Muleme in the 53rd minute, Keziron Kizito with Erisa Ssekisambu before Muzamir Mutyaba paved way for Frank Kalnda Machette.

The victory has sent Uganda to a fourth win over Rwanda in a CECAFA Cup final having beat them in 2003, 2009, 20011 and now 2015.

Uganda the winners of the 2015 CECAFA edition won USD 30,000 as prize money, Rwanda the runners –up USD 20,000 while Ethiopia who beat Sudan 5-4 in penalties after a 1 all draw bagged USD 10,000.

 Uganda Cranes XI:

Ismael Watenga (GK) Denis Okot, Joseph Ochaya, Richard Kasagga, Murushid Jjuuko, Bernard Muwanga, Ivan Ntege, Erisa Ssekisambu, Muzamir Mutyaba, Farouk Miya (C) and Ceasar Okhuti


James Alitho (GK) Nelson Ssenkatuka, Frank Kalanda, Shafiq Bakaki, Kezironi Kizito, Isaac Muleme, Joseph Nsubuga

Individual Awards:

Man of the Match: Muzamiru Mutyaba

Man of the Tournament: Eliyas Mamo (Ethiopia)

Best Goal keeper: Ismail Watenga (Uganda)

Top Scorer: Atahir Babikiir (Sudan) – 5 Goals

 Best Coach Johnny Mckinstry

About Post Author