UPDF Soldier Arrested Over Robbery

UPDF Soldiers

Keep fit walk a journey with friends and family members

A UPDF deserter was on Thursday afternoon arrested with stolen items in Pallisa town, Pallisa district following a tip off by concerned residents.

Pte. Andrew Sekajja (RA 212779) attached to 35 bn in Karamoja was arrested having robbed one motorbike, three mobile phones and a laptop. However the errant soldier also tried to rob an MTN mobile money shop though he failed.

Capt. Denis Omara, the UPDF 3rd Division spokesperson, confirms the arrest of the soldier saying that he has been transferred to Kampala.


He explains that the suspect was using rifle NO. UG POLICE 19790-E-33155 without rounds. He adds that the gun belongs to Police constable (PC) Philip Turinawe attached to Nsangi police station.

However, Omara notes that the Sekajja collaborated with PC Pius Osire and PC Aaron Mutumba attached to Naguru police station all in Kampala.

According to Omara, Sekajja was arrested by boda-boda cyclists with the help of other civilians and immediately forwarded to Kampala with his gun.

He continues to say the army has been hunting for the suspect since he deserted when he heard that his unit would be deployed in South Sudan. He encourages the people who lost their property to report to police so that prosecution can take off.

This is not the first time UPDF deserters are arrested over allegations of participating in criminal activities. In November 2010, the Rapid Response Unit in Masaka arrested a UPDF deserter, for alleged robbery.

The soldier was identified as Private Moses Kayemba, formerly attached to the UPDF’s casualty unit in Mubende district. He was part of the gang of five who were arrested in Lwengo sub-county for terrorizing and killing residents.

Also another UPDF soldier was in January arrested during a foiled robbery at shell petrol station in Lira. He was identified as Nelson Apita   a UPDF soldier attached to 5th Division and a guard at the residence of Colonel Innocent Oula, the recently elected Army MP.

About Post Author