FT: Uganda 4-0 Rwanda|CAF 2015 Under 17 QUALIFIER


And this is where the nightmare for Rwanda’s U-17  gets more real as they trail 4-0. Well I damn hope so. This was of course the third installment of Uganda Cubs’ CAF 2015 Under 17 qualifying campaign where a side that will form part of the next generation senior Cranes.

Shaban Mohamed celebrates his brace against the Junior Wasps at Namboole. PHOTO/John Batnudde
Shaban Mohamed celebrates his brace against the Junior Wasps at Namboole. PHOTO/John Batnudde

Worrying sign at the end of the half for Rwanda. Shaban Mohammed on a brace this afternoon with midfielder Pius Obuya adding the second goal early in the half and Julius Poloto snatching the other.

For long spells of the half, Uganda remained the dominant force with Rwanda’s goal custodian, Jimmy Nzeyruwanda stopping several goal bound efforts.

Fans witnessed a arbon copy of a young Nestroy Kizito style by left back Alex Komakech with great runs and accurate crossing  from the Ugandan left flank.

It should be the start of a new era with a much talented side coached by Matia Lule.  This was the first time ever meeting of the teams at this stage in the CAF Africa U-17 championships and the overall winner at this level plays Zambia for the final ticket to the continental showpiece.

Later on at 5pm, the senior national team also beat Mauritania 2-0 in the 2015 AFCON pre-qualifier first leg as well.

Uganda: Erick Kibowa (Goal keeper), Andrew Isiagi Okiring, Alex Komakech, Kato Samuel Nemeyimana, Bashir Asiku, Emmanuel Olinga, Jullis Poloto, Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye, Shaban Muhammed, Charles Ssebutinde and Pius Obuya.

Subs: Edward Kasibante (G.K), Joel Jangeyambe, Imran Mpaata, Ashraf Mugume, Abdul Nsubuga and Musa Mukalazi

RwandaJimmy Djihad Nzeyurwanda (G.K), Danny Niyongira, Kevin Muhire, Abeddy Biramahire, Claude Niyomugabo, Kevin Muhonde, Patrick Baneneza Honore, Racid Bigiranze, Kayitare Habiyaremye, Aman Niyonkuru, Vianney Uwase Jean Marie ;

Subs: Patrick Ndikumana, Innocent Nshuti, Sadjati Niyonkuru, Djabel Manishiwe, Felix Ngabo, Rukumbuzi Bienvenue and Ilias Rucogoza




About Post Author